I just had to share this amazing sweet and sour aubergine we had a couple weeks ago at our local Sichuan restaurant. There were a few new additions to their menu and this was one of them.

Sweet and Sour Aubergine

It was a huge aubergine (eggplant) sliced like a giant Hasselback potato then dipped in batter and deep fried. After plating, a spicy sweet and sour sauce with pork was poured over.

Sweet and Sour Aubergine Closeup

The amount of oil required to deep fry the whole aubergine really scares me but the taste was so amazing! The sauce was the closest thing to General Tso’s sauce I’ve had in the UK – it was sweet and tart with the vinegar and had some chili in it. The sauce is something I hope to replicate at home; I’ll pass on the deep frying!

Sichuan Restaurant
116 Churchfield Road
Acton
London W3 6BY