We’ve been eating quite a few of these lately:

Une Salade Composée

Salades composées are just various salady ingredients (yup, meat or fish are ok) arranged onto a plate (I rather like mine with all the parts separate like above)  and served with a vinaigrette on top. Simple, fresh, light, no cooking required. Choose a good variety of ingedients – nothing’s more boring that chewing on a whole bowlful of the same thing. For the vinaigrette, don’t bother with bottled; I whisked together a teaspoon of Dijon mustard, a tablespoon or two of sherry vinegar (wine vinegars are also good) and then a few tablespoons of good extra virgin olive oil. Adjust the ratios to suit your taste – we like quite a bit of that vinegary bite. Salt and pepper to taste and then pour over your salad. I used to do the whole shake it in a jar thing but I found that the oily mixture always had a way of leaking out onto my hands!

Nice and light for these (few) summery days!