See that dish below? That’s the corn with salted egg yolk at the Sichuan restaurant in Acton. I have no idea how they fry the corn kernels, each little kernel coated in a batter with salted egg yolk, and yet they don’t stick together at all. As you eat them, the crisp, dry coating gives way to the pop of the juicy corn kernel within, the salty mixing with the fresh sweetness. I’m craving it again as I write this!

Corn with Salted Egg Yolk

A little over a week ago, I met a number of bloggers at said restaurant, my local Chinese restaurant. One dish that I insisted on ordering was that dish above. I do believe the dish went down very well with everyone – seriously, if you make it to Acton to eat at the Sichuan restaurant, you must order the corn with salted egg yolk!

Of course, such a combination doesn’t sound very Sichuan-y, a cuisine better known for its use of chilies and tongue-numbing Sichuan peppercorns. The batter with salted egg yolk does seem to be quite common on prawns or crab or lobster; I think you gnaw off the delicious saltiness while eating the meat within the shells. But then a couple days ago, I happened upon kattebelletje‘s photo of fried corn in Sichuan province itself (she’s taking a cooking course in Chengdu). It exists – the dish does exist in China! However, we’re not sure if there was salted egg yolk in the batter but the amazing, individually coated, fried corn kernels are all there!

Of course, this isn’t the only excellent dish there. I love the dry chicken with chilies, the drifting fragrance chicken, and the sweet and sour aubergine. I can’t forget the ants crawling on a tree and their Guangong beef and their mapo tofu and their excellent hotpot. The dan dan noodles and Sichuan cold noodles are also particularly lip tingly and good.

But make sure you’re eating that corn!

Sichuan Restaurant
116 Churchfield Road
Acton
London W3 6BY

Sichuan on Urbanspoon