I think I’ve said it before but we’re not big breakfast people. Waking up is torture enough each morning and the thought of consuming something just makes me nauseous. For me, it’s just throw on some clothes, gather my things and I’m out the door in ten minutes flat (Blai can confirm this – apparently I’m not particularly verbose in the morning. I just sort of grunt). On weekends, I tend to crawl out into the living room and plonk myself on the sofa, it being a convenient and more socially acceptable substitute for the bed at 11am (I think).

Baked Eggs and Beans on the Plate

But here’s the thing, though I don’t eat breakfast, I really like the idea of it. Sweet breakfasts don’t do it for me so no pancakes or waffles or even cereals. For me, it’s all about the savoury. Bacon, fried eggs, sausages, fried noodles, noodle soups, leftover pizza – that is, if I could stomach it. But once in a while, always on a weekend, I’ll strive to make some brunch – too late for breakfast, just a little too early for lunch – and we’ll feast before the day’s events.

Baked eggs are very popular in our household – I love the look of the eggs nestling in their little beds of spinach or potato chunks or stew or what have you. For brunch last weekend, I set the eggs on top of baked beans, not just any baked beans but some doctored up ones – this time with chorizo and onion. Thanks to the dish’s tinned beginnings too, it’s very quick to put together. I served them with sausages, rocket leaves and toasted muffins. A good way to start the…uh… afternoon!

Baked Eggs and Beans

Baked Eggs and Beans
serves 2.

3-4 large eggs
1 tin baked beans
1 medium onion, chopped
1 tbsp olive oil
a few slices of cured chorizo (or 1-2 cooking ones, if you have it), chopped
a dash of Worcestershire sauce
Tabasco to taste
freshly cracked black pepper

Preheat your oven to 180C.

Heat a pot over medium heat and add the olive oil. Fry the chopped onion until translucent though no harm would be done if you fry them till golden brown. Toss in the chopped chorizo and fry them until they’re frizzled. Add the tin of baked beans and stir through. Season with the Tabasco and Worcestershire sauce and let the beans bubble for a bit. Take off the heat and add lots of freshly ground black pepper. Stir well. Pour into a baking dish that will comfortably hold the number of eggs you’re using.

Make a few indentations in the beans and crack an egg into each dent. Place the baking dish in the oven and bake for about 12-15 minutes or longer if needed, until the whites have set. The egg yolks should have nestled into the beans, protecting them from the heat of the oven and so they should still be liquid. Serve with other brunchy things.