I was tagged for this meme by the lovely Annemarie at Ambrosia and Nectar – I’m guessing this meme wasn’t started by a Chinese person, what with the number 4 being not that hot superstition-wise! Whatever. I’m going to tackle it now before starting on the mammoth task of going through my holiday snaps. Ah…holiday….summer is over…boo.

4 jobs I’ve held:

  1. Paper girl. Yup, I delivered newspapers in my neighbourhood in Vancouver! It wasn’t like in the films where the boy/girl rides a bike and throws newspapers, resulting in broken windows and injured cats. I walked to each door and placed the newspaper in/on the appropriate slot/hook/stoop.
  2. Page. I don’t really know why we were called that but this was my first proper job. I shelved books at a library.
  3. Research intern. At a well-known telecommunications company. This gave me my first taste of computer vision and I’ve enjoyed it ever since.
  4. Research associate. My current position at a university in London.

4 places I’ve lived:

I’ll just touch on the main cities though I have moved around a little.

  1. Kuala Lumpur. Where I was born.
  2. Singapore. Had a couple of years of primary school here. Learned some Mandarin which I’ve managed to totally forget.
  3. Vancouver. Grew up here. Completed most of my schooling here.
  4. London. Oof. 9 years here already!

4 places I’ve holidayed:

  1. San Francisco. The first real holiday I can recall. I was 13 and my family drove down from Vancouver.
  2. London. Ah ha! Yes, a repeat! Well, this was when I was 17 and in Vancouver and it prompted me to apply to universities in the UK and here I am! It was a life-changing trip, for sure.
  3. Munich. Bratwurst und Weisswurst und Sauerkraut und Sauerbraten und Bretzen und Kuchen und…
  4. Barcelona. I think I’ve flown over there about 7 or 8 times now…I’ve fallen in love with the city where my boyfriend grew up.

4 favourite foods:

Only 4?!

  1. Chai tow kueh. The Singaporean dish of stirfried steamed white radish cake. Delicious!
  2. Crisps. I can’t help it…I love their salty, greasy goodness.
  3. Jamón serrano. This is probably because I’m thinking about it a lot now that I don’t have easy access to it. I ate quite a bit of this on holiday. (I’ve got a little bit of Jamón Iberico de Bellota waiting for me at home though! Maybe I should save it for a special occasion…)
  4. Mangosteens. Best to have a little something healthy on the list. Hehe…

4 places I’d rather be:

Oh yeah, this is a great question when I’ve just been back from holiday. Sigh…

  1. In the countryside!
  2. On the beach!
  3. Food shopping in Barcelona!
  4. Not in London!

And now I’ve got to tag 4 people!

  1. Charmaine at Tasty Treats.
  2. Pille at nami-nami.
  3. Wynne at Everything is connected…
  4. Tommy at notes by naive.