During a lunch break recently, I made my way to the relatively new branch of the Hummingbird Bakery, the American-style bakery that’s made quite an impression on Portobello Road. I’ve been to the original store once before and had a very impressively fudgy, chewy brownie there. This time, it was to get one of their cupcakes.

Knot of Frosting

The space is quite large, with tables both inside and out, a counter lining the left side and cake stands topping a large table at the far side of the room. The cake stands were beautiful with large, layered cakes within – slices can be purchased. All along the counter are rows and rows of cupcakes and a panful of brownies at one end. There’s a cupcake-of-the-day, flavours are listed on their website, and I’m tempted to return on a Friday for their black bottom cupcake.

I chose a red velvet cupcake, their specialty, I believe. It’s a red-tinted vanilla sponge with a bit of chocolate flavour and frosted with cream cheese frosting. And as you can see here, it’s very pretty! They are £1.85 each – so significantly cheaper than the ones at Peyton and Byrne. Vanilla and chocolate cupcakes are even cheaper at £1.55 each. I wanted to eat my cupcake at home, that night, and so I asked for a box when I was first offered it in a napkin. A Chinese takeaway box was then produced for 10p. I accepted – I’m a sucker for those adorable boxes with their little wire handles! Normally, I wouldn’t have…I think.

Cute Box

The cupcake was much better than the one I had from Peyton and Byrne, even after the long wait between purchasing and actual eating. The cake was more moist (though it could be even more moist) and the cream cheese frosting was delicious, not too sweet. And there was just the right frosting to cake ratio. I’ll definitely have to go back to try their vanilla and chocolate cupcakes, available everyday.

Red Velvet

Prices listed on their website are the takeaway prices – expect a slightly higher price for eating in.

Hummingbird Bakery
47 Old Brompton Road
London SW7 3JP

Hummingbird Bakery on Urbanspoon