I pass through the Victoria area most days on my way into work. When I heard that a pop up restaurant (Laos Café) serving Laotian food was in the area, well, my ears definitely perked up. With one dinner home alone late last month, I popped in for some takeaway. The cafe itself (run by Rosa’s Thai Cafe) was small and absolutely rammed and I’m glad I got some takeaway as I hadn’t booked beforehand. It wasn’t long before I was clutching my bag quite excitedly on my train home.

Laos Cafe

Back home, I opened my packages with glee. There were Isaan sausages (£5), …

Isaan Sausages (Saigrok Isaan)

… papaya salad (£8), …

Papaya Salad (Som Tum)

… and beautifully fragrant sticky rice (£3). A very decent dinner for one.

Sticky Rice

Everyone was excellent. I didn’t ask for any specific heat level but the papaya salad (som tum) had a good burn to it and was one of the better ones I’ve had in London. The sausages were very moreish, with a slight fermented tang, and were served with the traditional peanuts and sliced ginger – oh, and chilies too! I’d like to go back to try their laabs and grilled sea bass but I’m going to have to hurry. The pop up cafe is open until the end of February, after which time it will revert to another branch of Rosa’s Thai Cafe.

Laos Café
25 Gillingham Street
London SW1V 1HN