It’s not often I’m in Hackney but I had a tip off from Shu Han that there was a florist there (Grace and Thorn) that sold a particular succulent that I had been searching for online for a while. We headed to the area late one Saturday afternoon, peeped at the animals at Hackney City Farm and then made our way to Little Georgia, a cafe I’d earmarked for lunch.

This was my first time having Georgian food and while I’d read a lot about it (especially about their cheese breads), I had no idea what to really expect nor what it would taste like. Anyway, at the cafe, being relatively late in the afternoon, the only diners were all of Mediterranean descent but we just managed to get the last table upstairs (there is seating downstairs as well but it’s a bit gloomier down there). It’s a tiny and extremely cozy place with a bit of outdoor seating. Service was very helpful and friendly.

We started with a couple of drinks: a fabulous strawberry and mint smoothie and an iced coffee with ice cream blended in. I loved the large drink portions here; nothing like getting a proper pint of beverage for your money. I despise tiny little glasses of juice and whatnot that barely quench one’s thirst.

Strawberry and Mint and Iced Coffee

Their lunch menu is mainly soups and sandwiches and we decided to order off their Specials board, which, in hindsight, was a small selection of what they serve for dinner. Kababi were homemade kebabs of spiced lamb served with mashed potatoes, salad and ketchup mixed with Georgian spicy ajika, a delicious spicy condiment made of red peppers and spices. Did I mention that everything was lovely and spicy?

Kebab

We also shared an Ayap Sandali, described as a hot pot of red peppers and aubergines in spicy tomato sauce, topped with cheese. This was utterly delicious, all stringy melty cheese on a wonderfully spicy mixture of aubergines and peppers cooked to silky softness. A side of toasted and buttered bread was all that was needed to mop up every last bit of sauce.

Baked Aubergine in Tomato Sauce

I had my eye on a cake on the counter and when I inquired about it, I was also shown another homemade sweet extracted from a tupperware box from within the kitchen. We had to have both. While the first cake (a walnut and raisin thing in the background of the photo below) was a bit dry and dull, the pastry cigarette filled with ground walnuts (in the foreground) was fantastic and flaky. It’s a shame I never caught their names.

Sweets

Our total bill? About £30. What a brilliant little gem of a place. I can’t wait to return, but for dinner! I must get my hands on a Georgian cheese bread khachapuri!

Of course, we also left Grace and Thorn with a totally different plant than I originally wanted. I need to go back there too!

Little Georgia
87 Goldsmith’s Row
London E2 8QR

Little Georgia on Urbanspoon