Or more specifically, small batch jam making this past summer. With not a lot of kitchen space and just the two of us at home, small batches (2-3 jars at a time) were the only way I could think of making a number of different jams without ending up with more jars than we could handle. I quite like it! The small batches mean I won’t get bored of the same fruit and I can fill a few jars on a weeknight rather than have to set aside a precious weekend to make a large batch.

The photo below shows the two main jams I’ve been producing – strawberry jam and plum jam. There seem to have been gluts of both fruits this summer and punnets could be bought at knock down prices at the end of the day at most markets. It seemed like a good year to finally learn to make jam and to get over my fear of preserving (was convinced I’d make something that would kill us). It was easy – much easier than I expected! And I like a softer set in my jams and I like that I can control this when making my own. Sure, I overcooked the jam on my very first attempt but then a small batch meant that I wasn’t wasting very much.

Bread and Homemade Jams

I’ve been using this article as a general guide but instead of just storing the jars in the fridge, I’ve been processing them properly so that I can store them in the cupboard for fruity goodness all through the year. Of course, due to the excitement of having homemade jam in the flat, we’re currently only left with one jar.

Next summer, there will certainly be more jam but what else do you think I should make please? (Apricot for sure. Oh, and raspberry.)