Ever seen someone wearing a yellow daffodil pin and wondered what it symbolised? I know I have. It’s the flower symbol used by Marie Curie Cancer Care, a charity that provides end of life care to terminally ill patients in their own homes or in one of their hospices. They got in touch recently to tell me about their Blooming Great Tea Party campaign, one in which members of the public are encouraged to throw a tea party to raise funds for the charity.

Every £20 raised goes to 1 hour of care for someone who needs it. It’s a cause close to my heart – my mother passed away from cancer a few years ago and I think she would have been more comfortable at home rather than at the hospital for her last few days. My confidence in Marie Curie grew when I was reassured by a colleague that his family had had experience with Marie Curie in the past and that the support they received was fantastic.

The Marie Curie official tea party season is from June 12 to July 12 (June 1 to 30 for Northern Ireland – not sure why!) but they don’t mind if you hold it a little late. Register on their site to receive a fundraising pack to help you with your tea party.

I’ll be holding my own tea party at work sometime in the next month and I’ll be blogging it. If you are holding one too, do tell us about it; I love hearing about a good tea party! Go on, hold a fundraising tea party; it’s for a good cause!

Marie Curie Blooming Great Tea Party

Marie Curie Cancer Care
Blooming Great Tea Party 2011