Granja Dulcinea, in the Barri Gòtic, was the very first that Blai ever took me to in Barcelona when I first visited about 8 years ago. The place is adorable with a little upstairs part allowing the cafe to sit more people than you imagine. As it was the first granja I’ve ever visited, I held a bit of a soft spot for it. It had been a while since I’d tasted their hot chocolate and I got the chance to when we revisited this year. Suïssos (xocolata with whipped cream on top) all around, of course!

Suísos

The thick hot chocolate here was slightly sweeter than that at Granja La Pallaresa on the same street (C/Petritxol). I think I still prefer the chocolate at the latter but both places are excellent for drinks. Judging from the crowds at both places, each has an equal number of fans.

Xurros

The xurros could have been a little crisper but otherwise they were good. I’ve not yet encountered a bad xurro!

Chocolate Time

Whatever your hot chocolate preference, Granja Dulcinea is still not a bad place to try some – it’s quite a classic granja and there’s a great buzz inside. Just to warn you though, the queues to get into these milk bars on Petritxol are always quite long around the holiday season.

Granja Dulcinea
c/Petrixol, 2
Barcelona