After attending the launch of Tastes of Singapore at Selfridges last week (photos here), I hopped over to Wahaca in Westfield to attend a Qype event – a tasting of the new dishes on their autumn/winter menu. I’ve been to Wahaca before when, in a nutshell, the food was hit and miss and the service wasn’t to my taste. As I hadn’t been impressed by my first visit (and I had blogged it), I wanted to get my thoughts down on this recent visit. This tasting brought their main dishes to my attention: there was a gorgeous mole and a wonderful pipian. The fish tacos were also delicious. There were other dishes that were less successful, though – the vegetable burrito and sauteed greens come to mind and I wasn’t enamoured with their pork pibil taco. Still, it was enough for me to give them another try and to order from outside the street food section of their menu.

Just a few photos from the night:

Fish Taco

Mole Enchilada

Churros y Chocolate

The full set of photos (along with descriptions and thoughts) can be found in this Flickr photoset. Thanks to Chris for organising this event and it was great meeting some new faces: Kelsie and Mel from Travels with My Fork and Luiz from The London Foodie.

Wahaca
1074 Westfield Shopping Centre
London W12 7GB

Wahaca on Urbanspoon