Last weekend, we hosted one of Blai’s good friends for lunch. He’s a serious chocoholic and I knew we had to have quite a chocolatey dessert. After a simple fresh tomato and sausage spaghetti, I warmed some brownies in the oven, scooped some vanilla ice cream, and drizzled over homemade hot fudge sauce. Hot fudge chocolate brownie sundaes! Thank you to the Amateur Gourmet for the original idea! I served a bowlful of strawberries and raspberries on the side to decorate one’s own sundae.

If you’re able to bake your own brownies and churn your own ice cream, this would be superb. However, we the time-pressed must opt for some quite ready made products. The ice cream was Green and Black’s vanilla while the brownies were Homestyle Two Bite, a brand I quite like from Canada and available from Whole Foods.

Chocolate Brownie Sundae

I first saw this recipe for hot fudge sauce over at Smitten Kitchen but I’ve tweaked it here for ingredients more easily found in the UK. It’s a tremendously thick and fudgy (almost chewy) sauce that’s wonderful on ice cream! Or even eaten cold with berries.

Sundae and Berries

Hot Fudge Sauce
adapted from Smitten Kitchen

100g 85% cacao dark chocolate
3 tbsps unsalted butter
2/3 cup water
1/3 cup sugar (I used golden caster)
6 tbsps golden syrup
Pinch of salt

Melt the chocolate and butter in a double boiler (I set a bowl over a pot of water – then used the pot again for the next step). In another pot, boil the 2/3 cup of water. Stir in the melted chocolate and butter and mix until it’s all homogeneous. Stir in the sugar, golden syrup and salt. (I’ll let you in on something: I didn’t really measure the butter or golden syrup. I cut off three tablespoon sized chunks off my block of butter and as for the syrup, I squeezed in six tablespoonish dollops.) Boil for about 9 minutes, stirring from time to time. When the time is up, the sauce should be quite thick and fudgy. Serve on ice cream!