You could call this breakfast for dinner, albeit a Mexican style one.

Beans and Eggs

I made a batch of these quick beans with cumin and oregano but used pinto rather than black as in the recipe. At least, I think they were pinto beans… As they were cooking, I took my trusty potato masher and gave the beans a good smash here and there and ended up with pseudo refried beans. Of course, you could always make truly refried beans from any leftovers from the recipe.

A few flour tortillas were heated up in my frying pan and the same pan was then used for frying a few eggs. Onto the plates went a couple of tortillas, a few large spoonfuls of the beans, some grated cheese, the fried eggs, sliced avocado and a sprinkling of chopped coriander. Can’t forget the salsa and sour cream on the side! It took almost no time at all and satisfied any Mexican food cravings I had!