My tummy has been upset. I could only look at the photos of the Thai beef salad I made and feel my stomach gurgle. Babies should gurgle, not stomachs. I’m feeling better but I’m sipping on some ginger ale right now.

Thai Beef Salad

Anyway, this was a dinner I put together after a craving for both steak and Thai food hit on the same day. The temperature was also hot hot hot and I had a rare wish for a salad. This Thai beef salad is light on both the stomach (though not upset ones) and the wallet as a little steak can stretch to feed a couple people.

Do adjust the dressing to your liking – the amounts of lime juice, fish sauce and sugar should be modified to your tastes. This ratio is what makes me happy.

Thai Beef Salad
serves 2.

200-250g sirloin steak
juice of 1 lime
1 tablespoon fish sauce
1 tablespoon sugar
1 small smashed garlic clove
chopped chillies
1 head little gem lettuce (or any other mixed leaves or lettuce)
2 tomatoes or a good handful of cherry tomatoes
half a cucumber
mint
coriander

Grill or fry the sirloin steak to your preferred doneness – I kept mine to be medium-rare. Sprinkle with a little salt and set aside to rest.

Prepare your dressing: mix together the lime juice, fish sauce, sugar, garlic and chilies and dilute with water to taste.

Prepare the vegetable part of the salad. Separate the leaves of the little gem, tearing up any large pieces, slice the tomatoes in any way, shape or form that pleases you, ditto the cucumber and finally tear up some mint and coriander. Arrange all this pleasingly on a platter.

Slice the steak across the grain and arrange on top of the salad. Drizzle over the dressing and serve the salad with some white rice (sticky is even better!) on the side as a light dinner.