If I’ve seemed distracted from my food blog, it’s because I am. There’s craziness at work (taking up most of my time), two big upcoming events with which to deal, a couple of birthdays and most distracting of all – a new bicycle! There’s also the matter of saving some money which is why I’ve not visited the restaurants on my very long list of places to eat. But really, it’s mostly that bicycle on weekends (a retro folder if you’re interested!). I’ve been perusing more cycle chic than food blogs lately – don’t worry, my heart is still with my food!

For the past few weekends, we’ve taken to our bikes, cycling about and discovering our area – quiet places where public transport won’t take us and far enough that walking won’t get us there. We’ve explored Chiswick and the neighbourhoods around Shepherd’s Bush and last weekend, we cycled down to Kew and along the river. Of course, all that cycling does build up a hearty appetite.

Piazza Seating

We parked our bikes near Kew Station and had a little wander before we settled down at an outdoor table at the Kew Greenhouse Cafe. If you’ve ever visited Kew Gardens via the tube/train station, you’ll know the place – it’s sitting at the corner and you’ll pass it on your way to the botanical gardens. Assuming you visited on a nice day, it’s the place with lovely terrace seating outside. So, we grabbed our table and then I went inside to order. Perusing the display cases inside caused me to change my order a few times!

Iced Lemon Tea

There was a bit of a wait for everything but they’d warned us this would be the case since they were very busy (as I’m sure most cafes with outdoor seating must be when the weather is fine). After about 10 minutes, our drinks arrive – an iced lemon tea (strangely made with cinnamon – I didn’t like it but Blai did) and just some sparkling water. My slice of cake also arrived – a lemon florentine cake, a lemon cake topped with nuts and candied fruit, just like on top of Florentines. We started nibbling on this gorgeous sticky slice while waiting for the rest of our food.

Lemon Florentine Cake

It all came another 10-15 minutes later. To “balance” my slice of cake, I ordered something “light” – a cheese and chive croissant served with salad. It wasn’t particularly light. The croissant was stuffed full of a cheese mixture that was heated before serving. When cut, a molten cheesey lava flowed from the centre. This and the cake would have been the perfect sized lunch for just me (assuming that I was trying not to be too gluttonous – I mean, I really could have fit in another slice of cake). However, since I was with Blai, we split our meals.

Croissant with Cheese and Chives

Blai’s huge slice of steak and Guiness pie was served with a variety of vegetables, both boiled and salady. The meaty filling was quite good and tasted homemade – shame about the use of frozen carrots in there though. It was a very generous serving, however, and filled us up well. We had to do a lot of cycling to burn it off!

Beef and Guinness Pie with Salad

Our meals cost £20 total, including the drinks. For a lovely, relaxed homemade meal out on an airy terrace for an unlimited amount of time, I reckon that’s a bargain! I liked the atmosphere of the place too – it’s a good mixture of both locals and tourists, all enjoying their very British fare.

Kew Greenhouse Cafe
1 Station Parade
Kew, Surrey
TW9 3PS

Kew Greenhouse Cafe on Urbanspoon