I hope this post isn’t too late for wild garlic season! I bought a bunch of it at my farmer’s market about 2 weeks ago (I think it was £1) and wanted to showcase it in its glory. No strong flavours to overwhelm the gentle green garlicness and so came up with a quick pasta dish after seeing something similar in a Mark Hix recipe in the Independent. I was so excited to eat it that I actually cooked this on a Sunday – strange for me as I usually save quick and easy pasta dishes for weekdays!

Wild garlic can be purchased from farmers’ markets but if you’re really lucky, you’ll find a patch in the wild. Tips on foraging for it can be found online; unfortunately, I can give none as I’ve not come across a patch, city girl that I am!

Spaghettini with Wild Garlic

Spaghettini with Wild Garlic
serves 2.

250g spaghettini
1 medium onion, chopped
olive oil
a small amount of pancetta or pork sausage
a pinch or two of chili flakes
a bunch (handful) of wild garlic
salt and freshly ground black pepper
extra virgin olive oil

Set a potful of water on to boil for the pasta.

In a large saute pan over medium heat, add 2 tbsps olive oil and saute the onion until translucent. Toss in the chili flakes and then add the pancetta or sausage and continue frying until this is cooked too (I used leftover sausage so just tossed it around until warmed through). Chop the bunch of wild garlic once or twice and then chuck it all into the pan with a splashful of water. It will cook down like spinach (though not as quickly as spinach!). Season with salt and pepper and set aside.

Salt the now boiling water. Cook the spaghettini until al dente and then toss through with the sauce (add some pasta water if needed) and some extra virgin olive oil drizzled over. Eat!

Hope you all have a great bank holiday weekend!

I’m submitting this post to Presto Pasta Nights, this week hosted by Tigerfish of Teczcape.