I was perusing the Gourmet website last week when I stumbled upon this recipe for a classic dessert from the city of Salzburg. I’d not heard of it before nor had I had anything remotely similar when I visited Salzburg but I was totally game to something involving pretty much a souffle on jam and cream. It sounded light and creamy and fruity and vanilla-y and altogether great. It was only Sunday when I finally got around to making it for dessert and let me tell you, it’s terribly easy for two to finish off what was meant for four.

Mmmm....Toasty Brown...

It’s a fabulously easy recipe though like many souffle recipes, it can go horribly wrong, especially if you decide to open the oven door to take a peek! (Don’t do it unless you like collapsed souffles!) If you’re feeling confident, I reckon it’ll be a lovely end (and it looks quite spectacular) to a Christmas lunch or New Year’s Eve dinner.

Anyway, I’ll see you all on the other side of Christmas Day – I hope it’s great for you and your loved ones. Happy holidays!

Salzburger Nockerl
adapted from Gourmet
serves 4

1/4 cup (63 mL) double cream
1/4 cup (63 mL) lingonberry preserves (or redcurrant or blueberry)
5 egg whites (from large eggs), at room temperature
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup (112 g) caster sugar
1 tbsp plain flour
3 egg yolks
1 tsp vanilla extract

Add the salt to the egg whites and beat until they reach the soft peak stage. Continue beating, adding the caster sugar a bit at a time, until they form stiff peaks and they look smooth and glossy. Fold in the flour.

In another bowl, beat together the egg yolks and vanilla. Carefully fold this mixture into the beaten egg whites.

In a 9″ pie dish (or something similar) pour the double cream into the base, twirling the pan to have the cream cover the bottom evenly. Drop small dollops of the jam onto the cream – it won’t cover the entire base but that’s ok.

Cream and Jam Base

Spoon the egg mixture on top – traditionally, three or four peaks (supposedly representing the mountains surrounding Salzburg) are made…but it’s perfectly ok to just spoon it on!

Ready for the Oven

Bake for 15 minutes or a little longer if you prefer your souffles a little more solid. I baked mine for about 18 minutes altogether. Let it rest out of the oven for about 5 minutes.

Sprinkle a little powdered sugar on top if you like and serve.