I’m back! I had a little over a week away in Chiang Mai, attending a workshop and having a bit of a holiday. Before my trip, I was very worried about my lack of Thai and how I would manage to get around town but I managed just fine. Everyone was very friendly and really did their best to help out if you’re having a problem. I saw more temples than you can shake a stick at and more dogs at those temples than I expected. And needless to say, I ate lots of Thai food! Of course, I’ve got to start my travel posts with the inflight meals that I ate; well, more like picked at.

The first leg of my journey was an overnight Qantas flight from London to Bangkok – about a 12 hour flight. Supper for me was pork medallions with a mustard sauce and sauerkraut. Not too bad. Not great either; hey, it’s airplane food. The highlight of the meal was the Bundaberg ginger beer that I got to taste – pleasantly gingery without the raw ginger taste.

Pork Medallions

Bundaberg Ginger Beer

In the morning, breakfast was served. I chose not to have either the muesli or the omelette that was on offer, opting only for the tray with fruit and juice. The fruit wasn’t very ripe and juice that comes in those funny little tubs always tastes strange. So, not much to report.

Breakfast

The second leg of the journey was Bangkok to Chiang Mai on Thai Airways. My transit at Suvarnabhumi Airport was an absolute nightmare as I was getting conflicting information about whether to go through immigration, which desk to go to, where to go. In the end, I had to sprint to make the check-in for my flight before it closed. The only good thing that came out of that horrific connection was that I met Katherine, who was going to the same workshop that I was attending. Hello, Katherine!

On the 1 hour 10 minute flight, we were served snack boxes with a mystery meat sausage roll and some juice drink. After my bit of exercise at the airport, I was ravenous and scoffed it all.

Juice and a Pastry

Luckily, we made it to Chiang Mai in one piece, checked in to our hotel and then went out for a first bite in Chiang Mai…

(I want to thank Boots in the Oven for their very helpful tips for my trip – thanks so much, Rachel!)