Apologies, all, I just needed to share this beautiful slice of jamón ibérico de bellota that I brought back from Barcelona. This is top of the line ham from free range Iberian pigs fed with acorns. We only just opened up the package (vacuum sealed) this past weekend.

Jamón Ibérico de Bellota

Here a slice is presented on a slice of sourdough bread but I ended up picking it off and eating them separately. Oh my goodness, it’s so marvelous. It’s soft and not very salty and oh so tasty. Well, it had better be good for the price I paid! While a small amount (I bought a little under 100g) is still affordable, it’s definitely not everyday ham.

I purchased this ham at El Celler del Pernil, C/ Pi I Margall 71, in Barcelona.

Update: The sister photo (shown below) to the above was featured as Photo of the Day on Serious Eats on Sept 27!

Jamón Ibérico de Bellota