This past weekend was defined for me by the release of the HP book and lots of homemade Japanese potato salad. You know what that HP stands for and I’m definitely not referring to the sauce. I woke up nice and early on Saturday morning, walked over to my local supermarket and bought my copy of the last book in the Harry Potter series. No spoilers here so please do read on!

Balsamic Glazed Sausages...with Japanese Potato Salad

I spent most of Saturday afternoon out and only started reading HP in earnest after dinner, the balsamic-glazed sausages from Lobstersquad with the Japanese potato salad from Just Hungry. I’d never made potato salad before and was a little unprepared for the amount of chopping required – though in hindsight, gosh, duh, I really should have expected it. Chopping aside, the dish is very easy to put together; it’s all stir stir stir and there you go, potato salad. Oh, and because I can’t seem to follow a recipe exactly, I substituted chopped sweet German pickles for the cucumber. Both recipes are keepers.

Cheese Toastie...with Japanese Potato Salad

The next day, a bit groggy from staying up too late to read HP, I needed to put together a fast lunch so that I could go straight back to the book. Enter the cheese toastie, with a side of potato salad – that recipe makes a lot! There’s still more leftover in my fridge – perhaps this salad won’t make an appearance again when I’m by myself in the flat! There doesn’t seem to be much point making a small serving of potato salad.

And I did finish the book.