Last Friday, I met Adelyn for dinner as she happened to be in London, on a break from her studies in Paris.

Potted Duck with Piccalilli

I gave Adelyn full reign over both our choices at Canteen; she had wanted some traditional British food. First up, potted duck with piccalilli and toast (£6). The duck is nice, a little smoother than I would have liked but there are still discernible flakes of meat in there. I really like their piccalilli, chunks of pickled cauliflower, green beans and peppers in a mustard sauce.

Veal and Chicken Pie

We also split a veal and chicken pie, the pie of the day (£9). What can I say, it was good.

Caramel Brownie Sundae

Not much to start with, I know, but we had to leave room for dessert! I love the desserts at Canteen – I cannot stand the usual chocolate fondant cakes and frozen slices of cheesecakes at other places. All are priced at £5 each. Adelyn was craving brownies and chose the chocolate brownie caramel sundae. It was excellent as usual and came with a generous scoop of thick cream on top.

Gingerbread and Rhubarb

I wanted the gingerbread with rhubarb and Jersey cream. I love all things ginger and this gingerbread was gorgeous! So soft and warm and melting…I could fall asleep in a pile of it. The rhubarb compote wasn’t too sour and the cream…um…they really like their cream here. I thought it was ice cream at first, until I tasted it. It was as thick as butter and almost as yellow and I guess it must have been clotted cream.

Their menu does change seasonally with their roasts and pies changing daily. Save room for dessert!

Canteen
2 Crispin Place
Spitalfields
London E1 6DW
And another branch is opening at the Royal Festival Hall soon.

Canteen on Urbanspoon