For my family, it’s all about the eating at Christmas time. This year, I’m in Vancouver with my father and I’m finding it quite a challenge not overdoing the cooking for two! Like last year, I cooked a Chinese meal for Christmas Eve and this year, there was a steamed fish again – and this time, this was a brilliantly fresh giant trout my father found at a local supermarket. I feel like I’m starting a new tradition with the Asian Christmas Eve meal.

Steamed Trout

And for dessert? A big bowl of jelly, tinned fruit and some honey and walnut frozen yoghurt.

And last night's jelly, tinned fruit and honey and walnut frozen yoghurt...

On Christmas day, there was steak! Steak with a mushroom and pepper sauce, roasted Brussels sprouts and sweet potato fries. I do believe I’ve converted my father to sprouts! It’s not a conventional Christmas meal but steak’s great for smaller parties.

Steak, Sprouts and Sweet Spuds

For dessert – homemade sherry trifles. These were supposed to be individual serving sizes until my brother pointed out that they were huge. Oops. Yup, that’s a pint glass. And yes, they were extremely rich and definitely filled us up!

Trifle

What did you have for Christmas?

