There was sun yesterday! And the forecast looks like sun next week (fingers crossed). Oh no, I checked it again – now it looks like rain. Well, here are some mango lassi inspired ice lollies (popsicles for the North Americans) that are a fabulous sunny colour (I know, I know, not exactly a valid substitute)! I used alphonso mangoes as that’s what I had but if you can get hold of some Pakistani honey mangoes, those would be good here too. As they’re mainly fruit, they have a great soft-frozen texture that’s not too icy.

Mango Lassi Ice Lollies

And please let’s ignore their slightly phallic appearance. You can use a regular popsicle mould but if you’re like us and you have very limited freezer space, then I highly recommend the use of the Lékué silicone ice lolly moulds (I’m not being paid to recommend these!). I bought mine from Spain a few years ago and they’re just brilliant – they’re leakproof and easy to clean and they can lie flat in your freezer. They look like Calippos!

Mango Lassi Ice Lollies

I found that about half a mango made about one ice lolly/popsicle. I used one and a half mangoes and got three ice lollies. Puree your mango flesh along with a heaped tablespoon of regular or Greek yoghurt per half mango (that’s all I had but regular yoghurt will also do) and add water until you get a pour-able consistency. Pour into your popsicle moulds and freeze.

