I’ve been watching way too much Food Network UK recently and the one show I constantly drool over is Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. I love the old school joints that are featured. There’s many a night I’ve wasted in the past reading about barbecue and meat and three and Coney dogs and stacks of pancakes and everything about this show brings it all to life. Of course, it also brings on some massive cravings, like the waffles I needed one recent weekend.  Rather than pair them with something savoury, I wanted sweet waffles and sweet waffles I would have.

Cheap punnets of blueberries at the supermarket also had me remembering a sleepover at a friend’s when I was much younger and still in Canada. We had pancakes for breakfast with her family and her father brought out a little pitcher of homemade blueberry syrup. The recipes online for blueberry syrup are just that – a thick sweet liquid made from cooking blueberries with sugar and water. But those online are strained while that I remember still had plenty of blueberries in it; this would have to be rectified. It was decided – a punnet of blueberries came home with me and I was going to have homemade blueberry syrup with my waffles that Sunday morning.

Waffle with Blueberry Syrup and Yoghurt

Blueberry Syrup for Waffles or Pancakes
serves 2 (on top of waffles and pancakes!)

200g blueberries
3 tbsps sugar
120 ml water

Dump all the ingredients into a small pot and place over medium heat. Stir to dissolve sugar and when the mixture comes to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer together, mashing the blueberries a bit, until thickened. This will take about 10-15 minutes.

Serve warm over waffles or pancakes. I plopped a dollop of Greek yoghurt on top but it doesn’t really need it. If you like your syrup sweeter, by all means, add more sugar but I like it just like this.

