Are we bored of sprouts yet? Still got a few floating about the fridge? Here’s yet another way to use them up.

Ah, Brussels Sprouts. I love the little farty green spheres and I look forward to their arrival in the markets every winter. It wasn’t always this way. I actually remember the first and only time we boiled sprouts at home. It was the first time we bought them ever in Vancouver and my mother cooked them the only way she’d heard how – by boiling them to death. As you can imagine, they didn’t really go down well. Since then, I’ve eaten many a boiled sprout but I’ve also learned that roasting them or pan-frying them is the true way to go. Pan-frying them gets any cut edges beautifully brown and while they’re great to eat as is, here I incorporate them into a frittata.

I also make use of the fabulous crispy fried onions that are so popular in Scandinavia and Germany. I always have a tub to hand – for sprinkling on hot dogs (as they do up in those northern countries), topping frittatas or salads, or just snacking out of hand (terrible, I know). I’ve found them in most supermarkets and also at Ikea.

Sprout Frittata

Brussels Sprouts Frittata

Trim about a dozen Brussels sprouts and cut in halves or quarters depending on their size. Heat a 10 inch non-stick frying pan over medium heat and add a tablespoon of oil. Add the Brussels sprouts and fry, turning occasionally until they start browning. Meanwhile, preheat your grill and beat together 5 large eggs, seasoning with salt and pepper. When the sprouts are as brown as you like them, and tender, reduce the heat and arrange the sprouts evenly in the pan. Pour over the beaten eggs and stir quickly to get as much of the egg to the heat. Pat down the mixture before it all sets. While the top still has not set, sprinkle generously and evenly with some crispy fried onions. When the bottom of the frittata starts to take on some colour, move the pan to under the preheated grill and cook until the top has set. Serve.

