It was a salad we had in Molovos on which I’m basing this salad. I never thought I’d so utterly fall in love with a raw courgette salad with a scattering of nuts and cheese. The summer squashes do need to be very thinly sliced though and it was the perfect time for me to pull out my newly acquired mandoline.

Courgette Salad

Mmm… it’s healthy but sure doesn’t taste that way – all that sharp cheese and earthy nuts and fresh mint go very well with the slightly bland, slightly green-in-flavour raw courgette. I do believe there are still some courgettes in the markets so get them while you can to make this salad!

Courgette Salad

A Raw Courgette Salad

Thinly slice a courgette and arrange the slices onto a plate (you’ll probably have more than one layer). Chop a few walnuts and crumble a chunk of feta and scatter on top. Slice a few mint leaves finely and also arrange those on top. Sprinkle with salt, squeeze over some lemon juice and drizzle on a good amount of extra virgin olive oil. Eat!

