If I had a French patisserie near where I lived, I probably wouldn’t be bothering with this post! When I need a quick dessert, I hope that I’ve got some nice ready-made puff pastry and some suitable fruit in the fridge and knock together this tart. It goes under a variety of names and “rustic fruit tart” seems to be the most popular. Of course, a homemade pastry is best but when you’re pushed for time (read: desperate for a sweet), ready-made has to do; I was pleased with the all-butter puff pastry I found at Waitrose.

Blueberry Tart

First, roll out some all-butter puff pastry (I rolled out approximately a third of a 375g block) into about a 3mm thick sheet – shape isn’t important but aim for semi-roundness! Place it on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Then gather together your fruit. Blueberries, apples, pears, peaches, nectarines, apricots, plums are all suitable for a pie like this. Of course, chop up the fruit to cook faster! I mixed blueberries with about 2 tablespoons of caster sugar and a 1 teaspoon of cornflour/cornstarch and then piled the lot in the middle of the pastry sheet. Fold the edges of the pastry sheet over the fruit, brush the exposed pastry with beaten egg yolk and sprinkle the top with some more caster sugar.

Bake it in a preheated oven at 200 degrees Celsius – a tart this size needs baking for about 30 minutes. The pastry should be golden brown and the fruit cooked through and their juices bubbling. Serve – this serves between 2 to 4 people. A bit of creme fraiche or ice cream would be lovely with a slice!

