Fresh corn cobs are still available at the farmers’ and outdoor markets and after eating my fill of boiled corn on the cob, I wanted to use it in some other way. After a disappointing corn waffle at one London restaurant, I thought I’d cook my own corny brunch one past Sunday. Since I don’t have a waffle maker/grill, I thought I’d make fritters instead. These turned out to be more like pancakes as I didn’t use much oil to fry them.

Corn Fritters and Streaky Bacon

The corn fritters turned out gorgeously toothsome being chock-full with all those fresh corn kernels and when paired with some streaky bacon, became even better. Taking it all to another level was the honey I drizzled over them! I think maple syrup would be lovely too, the sweetness matching perfectly with the sweet carbiness of the fritters and saltiness of the bacon.

Corn Fritters with Honey

Fresh Corn Fritters
adapted from a recipe by Bill Granger.
serves 3-4.

1 cup plain flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp hot smoked paprika
1 tbsp sugar
2 medium eggs
1/2 cup milk
fresh corn kernels, cut from 2 cobs
oil for frying

In a large bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, salt, paprika and sugar. Crack in the eggs and beat them into the flour. Add the milk bit by bit and stir well to combine. You should end up with a very thick pancake batter. Stir through the corn kernels.

Heat a frying pan over medium heat and add 2 tablespoons of oil, twirling the pan to coat the surface evenly. Fry the batter as you would pancakes, using 1 tablespoonful of batter per fritter. This will take about 1-2 minutes a side, until they are golden brown.

Serve with rashers of bacon on the side and honey or maple syrup to pour over.

