Alright, this is the final post on New York! To sum up the trip, I had a fabulous time and ate like a queen, even when eating cheaply!

One afternoon, before a solo trip to the Met, I stopped in at Gray’s Papaya and ordered their Recession Special ($3.50): two hotdogs, one with sauerkraut, one with onions, and a papaya drink. Yummy! I do love a good hot dog and these beefy ones really hit the spot that day. The papaya drink was only so-so but that’s probably just me (I recently also tried some papaya juice and I didn’t like it. I prefer to just eat the fruit.).

Gray's Papaya Hot Dogs

Another morning, we headed for East Houston and ended up at Yonah Schimmel’s Knish Bakery. As a first-time knish eater, the man there recommended a spinach knish ($3.00) and heated one up for me (Mirna had the same). He handed over our knishes in small white paper bags – it must have weighed at least half a pound and was the size of both of my fists combined!

A Spinach Knish

For other knish newbies, a knish is a ball of seasoned mashed potatoes wrapped in a layer of pastry and baked. It’s heavy and starchy and carby and delicious, especially with lots of mustard!

Later that same day, we were in Chinatown and I searched for one of the cheap dumpling joints I’d heard so much about. We found Tasty Dumpling where 5 pork and chive dumplings can be had for only $1.25. I poured on some black vinegar and some spicy chili vinegar and then took them, along with a bottle of fresh soya bean milk, to the park opposite, where lots of Chinese men play chess!

Pork and Chive Dumplings

Dumpling Innards

The skins may have been a little thick but they were pleasantly chewy and the filling was tasty. Cheap dumplings can’t be beat!

The last notable eat was General Tso’s Chicken eaten at a cheap Chinese restaurant connected to our hotel. It was a combination plate with pork fried rice and an egg roll all for under $7.

General Tso's Chicken

Gosh, have you ever seen fried rice that’s that yellow?! The accompanying rice and egg roll were nothing to shout about but General Tso, what lovely chicken you make! Deep fried battered chicken tossed in a sweet and sour and spicy sauce – delicious and oh so not good for us! General Tso’s chicken is available at just about any Chinese restaurant in the States so I won’t provide the address of this one!

I had such fun in New York – I’m definitely going to plan a trip back in the future! To see all my New York photos (including the non-food ones!), c’mon over to my New York Flickr photoset.

Gray’s Papaya
402 Sixth Avenue at 8th Street
New York, NY
(there are two other locations)

Yonah Schimmel’s Knish Bakery
137 East Houston Street
Between 1st & 2nd The Lower East Side
New York, NY

Tasty Dumpling
54 Mulberry St
New York, NY

