When I go to Southall, I make sure I have a nice meal there. This time, it was chole bhatura, a North Indian combination of spicy chickpeas (chole) with fried soft flatbreads (bhatura), at Rita’s Samosa House. I love the spicy tamarind sauce that comes alongside.

Chole Bhatura

I also like to buy nibbles to eat at home, like these pakoras. There were pakoras of potato, onion, aubergine, cauliflower, and stuffed whole chilies. These were purchased from Ambala Foods.

Pakoras and Asparagus

Also for home are a boxful of mangoes. It’s the season for the king of mangoes – Alphonso mangoes. They were so delicious – sweet and heavily perfumed. I can’t imagine using them in any recipe; they’re perfect just as they are!

Alphonso Mangoes

Sure, it’s a bit of a trek from central London but it’s a fun place to visit for the day!

Rita’s Samosa House
112 The Broadway
Southall, Middlesex
UB1 1QF

Rita's Samosa Centre on Urbanspoon

