It’s not often that I open a tin of baked beans – Heinz if you must know. I hardly grew up with them even though every Sunday morning, my mother would cook an English breakfast for us. Not a full English but…shall I call it a general English? Fried eggs, bacon (English back bacon when Marks and Spencers was still around in Vancouver), toast, and only very very occasionally, baked beans. This last was mostly for my father who seemed to like them; actually, I think he was the only one who ate them back then. Later on, my mother would doctor the usual tomato sauce with a few extra ingredients to make them more palatable to her. Nowadays, I do the same. Last weekend, a craving hit and I had them on toast.

Beans on Toast!

More Palatable Baked Beans

A tin of baked beans (the kind in tomato sauce – I buy Heinz)
A small chopped onion or a few chopped shallots
Bacon, any kind, chopped
Olive oil
Chili sauce
Freshly ground black pepper

Fry the onion and bacon in some olive oil (~ 2 tbsps) until the onion is turning golden and the bacon is cooked through. Stir in the beans and add a couple of good shakes of chili sauce. I’m currently on a bottle of Yeo’s Hot Chilli Sauce and next in the queue is a bottle of Lingham’s. A few grinds of black pepper and the whole thing is ready when heated through.
Serve on toast or as part of a general English breakfast.

The eagle-eyed among you will notice that there’s no bacon in the beans in the photo. I ran out. Boo.

